Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Email

You may be relieved to know that there isn’t a UKCAT pass mark! How universities use UKCAT marks varies from medical school to medical school. Often, admissions offices work down from the highest scores, or apply their own cut-off whereby applicants below that threshold will not be considered.

How is the UKCAT marked?

The UKCAT marking system is unique, but straight forward. The cognitive and situational judgement sections are graded differently.

The cognitive sections

The following sections:

are all scored in the same way. Each of these three sections are simply marked on the number of correct answers that the candidate provides.

What’s great about UKCAT marking is that there are no negative marks awarded for incorrect answers. This means that if you perform poorly in a few questions, it won’t have a detrimental effect on your correct answers.

Candidates do not receive a raw score for each section, but a scaled score that can take a value from 300 to 900. The individual scores for each of the three sections can then be added together to give a score ranging from 900 to 2,700.

All candidates will have to sit the Decision Making section of the UKCAT, but will not be marked on it.

How is UKCAT Situational Judgement marked?

Unlike the cognitive sections, for each fully correct answer to a question a candidate receives full marks. For every partially correct answer, a candidate receives partial marks.

The scores are then organised into ‘bands’ ranging from 1 to 4, with 1 being the highest. Each band has a description of the criteria which must be satisfied. To view these, visit the UKCAT website.

Click on the buttons & boost your UKCAT score!


Loading More Content